Disclosure: Human Rights Careers may be compensated by course providers.

Applications Open for UN Journalism Fellowships

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is currently accepting applications for their fellowship program. For the last 50 years, the program has provided placements for hundreds of aspiring journalists, giving them the opportunity to gain valuable job experience.

Recipients of the Dag Hammarskjöld Fellowship will spend 10 weeks in New York City, United States, covering the proceedings of the United Nations General Assembly. Fellows receive round-trip airfare to and from New York and full accommodations. In addition, the fellowship provides health insurance coverage during the placement and a daily stipend to cover the cost of food and other expenses. Personal expenses like telephone calls are not paid for by the fellowship.

To qualify for the Dag Hammarskjöld Fellowship, applicants must be from one of a set number of developing countries. These nations include: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivorie, Cuba, Cyprus, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal ,Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, The Bahamas, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Prospective fellows must currently reside in one of the above developing countries and be currently employed by a media company. Employers must endorse the applicants and be willing to provide a 10-week leave of absence for fellows to participate. Media outlets must also pledge to publish works written by the fellow in relation to their placements and to continue to pay them while they are in New York. In addition to the work requirements, applicants must be between the ages of 25 and 35 and be fluent in English.

Applications for the Dag Hammarskjöld Fellowship are available online at the organization’s official website. The application requests personal information as well as information about applicants’ language abilities, education and work experience. With the application, prospective fellows must include examples of their work, two letters of recommendation, an endorsement from the editor or director of their news organizations, a professional summary, two photographs and a copy of their passports.

The deadline to apply for the scholarship is March 12, 2018. Applications and support documents must be mailed to the Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists at the following address:

512 Northampton Street, No. 124A

Edwardsville, PA 18704 USA

Visit the official website for more information.

About the author

Human Rights Careers

Human Rights Careers (HRC) aims to help human rights students, recent graduates and young professionals to pursue a career in the highly competitive field of human rights.